The California Statement of Information provides the California Secretary of State with updated information about your business entity, such as its current officers, directors, and business address. A statement of information is like a California LLC report updating the Secretary of state on your business info. Your statement is due annually or biennially depending on the type of business entity you’ve registered (we’ll explain in detail below).
You can file your California Statement of Information online, by mail, or in person. If you don’t file your Statement of Information, the California Secretary of State will charge steep penalties and potentially even forfeit or suspend your right to do business. Below we’ll go over everything you need to file your California Statement of Information, including who needs to file, how to file, and when to file.
The California Statement of Information is a document that certain registered business entities in California are required to file with the Secretary of State. Sometimes referred to as a California Annual Report or a California Biennial Report, the purpose of this report is to keep the state up-to-date with your business operation.
Here’s a quick overview of everything you need to know:
The following business entities are required to file a California Statement of Information:
New business entities must file a Statement of Information within 90 days of formation or registration with the Secretary of State.
If you set up an LLC in California, then your California must submit this LLC report every two years by the last day of the month in which you formed your California LLC.
What is required on your Statement of Information:
There is a $20 filing fee for LLCs and a $25 filing fee for corporations.
If you incorporate in California, then your Statement is due every year by the last day of the month in which you incorporated in California.
There is no set universal due date for filing your Statement of Information with the state. Instead, there is a six-month window based on the type of business entity and the date of formation. California LLCs file every two years. California Corporations file every year. Newly formed or registered business entities must submit their first annual report within 90 days of forming or registering with the Secretary of State.
It can get annoying trying to stay on top of due dates, so here’s a handy rundown:
Six-Month Window for Filing Your Statement of Information
Month of Formation/Registration
First Day of
Last Day of
Remember, corporations must submit yearly. LLCs must submit every two years. If you formed your business on an even year, then your Statement of information is due on an even year. Odd years are due on odd years.
We know, we know. It can get confusing. And if you miss your filing window, the late fee is $250! That’s why when you hire us to form your California LLC or to incorporate in California, we file your initial Statement of Information as part of the service, and we can keep you on top of future due dates with timely compliance reminders through your secure online account.
The California Statement of Information can be filed online, by mail, or in person. To find the form, you’ll need to search the California Secretary of State’s Business Programs website for your business.
In each case, you’ll have to find your business record by searching for your business name or entity number.
The due date for your California Statement of Information depends on what kind of business entity you have and when you initially formed your company.
Why yes, you do! Your first Statement of Information is due within 90 days of forming your California LLC or corporation. When you hire us to form your California LLC or corporation, we file your first Statement of Information for you, since it’s a necessary step in starting a business in California.
The cost to file a the California Statement of Information differs by entity type.
If you forgot to file your Statement of Information, don’t panic. You have a 60-day grace period after your due date to file your California Statement of Information without a late fee. But after the 60-day grace period is up, you’ll owe a $250 late fee and the Secretary of State may suspend or forfeit your business. If that happens, you’ll lose the right to do business in California until you revive your LLC or corporation.
It’s true that whatever you list on the Statement of Information is posted on the California Secretary of State’s website. This can create a problem for web-based workers or anyone who wants to keep their personal address off the public record.
We solved that problem. When you hire us to file your California Statement of Information, we’ll list our California business address on your Statement of Information everywhere we can—that includes for members, managers, and officers. This can help you avoid identity theft and campaigns from aggressive marketers.
When you hire us to form your California LLC or incorporate in California, we’ll file your initial Statement of Information as part of our service. After that, we’ll send you reminders as your due date approaches. Then we’ll automatically file your Statement of Information for you for $100 plus the filing fee. You can opt out of this service easily through your secure account.
Never forget to file your California Statement of Information by hiring us to start your California business—our filing service includes timely reminders and pre-signed documents ready to be submitted instantly!